Diana Occhipinti

Diana with “Bonnie,” David Byrum’s dog (and unofficial office mascot)




Where did you attend college and what did you study?
I attended Mt. San Antonio College in Walnut, California studying to be a flight attendant. After I came to the realization that I really didn’t like to fly, I finished the year out and chose a different career path.

My sister-in-law’s sister recommended me for a receptionist position where she worked, and that began my introduction into office/administrative work.

What drew you to working for Civiltec?
I had been working at another engineering company and knew of Civiltec and Rick Shroads. I was getting married in 1992 and, the day before my wedding, I received a letter from my company advising me that my position was being eliminated effective immediately. Fortunately, I was working with two engineers who were set to join Civiltec. I was offered a job at Civiltec, which I gladly accepted.

That shift, even though the timing seemed bad back then, was a blessing — I’ve now been with this wonderful company for over 23 years!

What do you like best about working at Civiltec?
I like the variety of job responsibilities I have from ordering office supplies to human resources, payroll, corporate insurance, medical, dental and vision insurance, proposals, organizing Day at the Races, etc.  Basically, whatever is needed to get the job done and assisting others.

We are very fortunate to work for a generous company that empowers its employees, doesn’t micromanage, offers a flexible work schedule, and is a family.

What are some of your favorite types of projects to work on?
I really appreciate working on construction management projects. Having the opportunity to be in the field to see a reservoir, pump station or other types of projects we design being constructed from ground breaking to start-up. It is beneficial especially when you’re typing or reading specifications on, say, a pump station. You can visualize it and have a better understanding of what Civiltec does instead of it just being words on a computer or a piece of paper. I like things that are challenging and that require research and investigation.

When you’re not working, how do you like to spend your time?
I enjoy reading mystery books; going to plays at local community playhouses; watching British mystery, drama and comedy shows; gardening; and helping my husband on improvement projects around the house. I also enjoy listening to Big Band and Oldies music. My favorite thing, though, is listening to and attending my son’s jazz concerts.

He started playing the alto sax in 5th grade in his school’s jazz band and now plays the soprano, alto and baritone saxophones, and is currently learning to play the flute. He is now a Junior at Cal Poly Pomona majoring in economics and playing in the jazz band, pep band and saxophone quartet.